Cedarcrest-Logo-FINAL-Tagline-Horizontal-01 (1)

The Margaret “Peg” Knox Scholarship

Honoring a legacy by supporting the educational pursuits of our staff – an investment in future healthcare and allied professionals

Margaret “Peg” Knox mentored hundreds of Licensed Nursing Assistants (LNAs) and Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) throughout her 43 years as Cedarcrest’s Director of Nursing before her retirement in 2012. She encouraged many of her mentees to pursue advanced clinical training and allied professional education. To honor that legacy Cedarcrest developed a scholarship program to offer financial assistance to staff seeking clinical nursing and allied education.

The Cedarcrest Board of Trustees and donors invest contributions to the Knox Endowed Scholarship Fund to generate scholarship support each year. Using the investment earned income, the principal continues to grow and will ensure scholarships far into the future.

There is a rigorous scholarship application process for staff members who wish to pursue nursing licensure or another advanced certificate or degree program in a medical or other allied field. The nominations are collected in early fall with the announcement of the recipient(s) at Cedarcrest’s annual meeting.

Past Recipients

2012: Ashley Bertolami
2013: Bridget Toepfer
2014: Angela Mooney
2015: Jill Mercier
2016: Sarah Woodman
2017: Skyler Main and Natasha McCarthy
2018: Melissa Antin, Amanda Babcock and Natasha McCarthy
2019: Amy Prentice and Natasha Winslow
2020: Kirsten Nichols and Jordyn Pendilla
2021: Shelby Durant, Lauren Petrycki, Kirsten Nichols, Elaine Murphy and Courtney Hastings
2022: Caitlyn Blood, Mackenzie LeClaire, Took Sanman and Nadja Stinson
2023: Briana Uvena and Morgan Naumann

Donate Now